Skip to Main Content

Faculty of Agriculture and Natural Sciences: Borrowing - Privileges

This guide is for Faculty of Agriculture and Natural Sciences

Borrowing - Privileges

Students, Academics and support staff must have a UMP Staff/Student ID card to borrow library materials. Most items can be renewed two times unless a recall/hold exists for the item. Library staff may occasionally recall an item from borrowers. After notification of the recall, library users have to return the book that has been recalled. Fines on recalled books will be R2.00 per day, per item after the recall due date.

 

FAQ's

Open Collection Undergraduate Student Postgraduate Student Academic Staff Support Staff
How many items can I borrow? 5 Items 5 Items 10 Items 10 Items
For how long? 7 Days 14 Days 30 Days 30 Days
Can I renew my loans? Yes. Unless items are requested by another library user.
Can I return items at any time? Yes. Return items at the circulation desk or drop-box (after library hours).
Note: Overnight loans must be returned to the library before 9:00
What if I have an overdue item? You will not be able to borrow or renew loans. Overdue fines will apply.
Can I request items already on loan? Yes. Place a "Hold" request in Search on Primo Discovery.
Note: Resources in high demand may be available only to registered students and staff.
Can I borrow News papers? No. For use and copying in the Library.

 

Short Loans Collection Undergraduate Student Postgraduate Student Academic Staff Support Staff
How many items can I borrow? 5 Items 7 Items 10 Items 10 Items
For how long? Maximum 18 Hours / Overnight Maximum 18 Hours / Overnight Maximum 18 Hours / Overnight Maximum 18 Hours / Overnight
Can I renew my loans? Yes, Once unless items are requested by another library user.
Can I return items at any time? Yes, return items at the circulation desk or drop-box (after library hours).
Note: Overnight loans must be returned to the library before 9:00
What if I have an overdue item? You will not be able to borrow or renew loans. Overdue fines will apply.
Can I request items already on loan? Yes, Place a "Hold" request in Search on Primo Discovery.
Note: Resources in high demand may be available only to registered students and staff.
Can I borrow journals? No. For use and copying in the Library.

 

Media (DVD and Video) Undergraduate Student Postgraduate Student Academic Staff Support Staff
How many items can I borrow? 5 Items 7 Items 10 Items 10 Items
For how long? Maximum 3 Days Maximum 3 Days Maximum 3 Days Maximum 3 Days
Can I renew my loans? Yes. Once unless items are requested by another library user.
Can I return items at any time? Yes, return items at the circulation desk or drop-box (after library hours).
Note: Overnight loans must be returned to the library before 9:00
What if I have an overdue item? You will not be able to borrow or renew loans. Overdue fines will apply.
Can I request items already on loan? Yes, Place a "Hold" request in Search on Primo Discovery.
Note: Resources in high demand may be available only to registered students and staff.

 

FAQ's

  Open Collection Loans Short Loans Media Collection Loans Inter-library Loans
Lost / Damaged Item Fine R165.00 R165.00 R100.00 Amount determined by Lending Library
Loan Overdue Fine R1.10 a day R1.10 per hour R1.10 a day R1.10 a day
Recalled Overdue Fine R1.10 a day R1.10 per hour R1.10 a day R1.10 a day
*Fines do not have to be paid until they reach R50:00. Once that figure is reached fines must be paid in full.
Students - If you do not pay your fine within a reasonable time, you may be 'encumbered'. This means that you will not be able to use your library account, get your results or graduate.
*Library Account : my loans - You may use your library account to: view the items or renew what you have on loan and the respective due dates and check outstanding fines.

Returning

To avoid fines, it is important to return or renew items before they are due. You may return checked out materials at the following locations:

  • Circulation desk on the ground floor in the library,
  • Book Drop-boxes located closer to the library entrance,
  • To check your library account activities please visit My Library Card.

Reference Collection

The library has items shelved under Reference collection. This collection consists mainly of dictionaries, encyclopedias and some copies of prescribed titles. Titles under the reference section cannot be taken out on loan but can be used in the library.

Renewing

  • To renew online, users need to log into their library account on Primo
  • To renew in person, users should go to the Circulation desk in the library
  • Library materials may not be available for renewal if:
    • (a) A hold has been placed on the book
    (b) A maximum fine has accrued on the user's library account